Suspension, chassis tuning, brakes, alignment
Sydewaysix
Stage 0
Car(s): 1990 Miata
Car(s): 2002 MP5
Car(s): 2010 CX9

Newbie here - what do I need to make my car "track ready?"

Postby Sydewaysix » Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:44 pm

I'm new to the miata world and just picked up a 1990 A-package. The car came with quite a bit of suspension mods but I'm wondering if you suspension gurus think I need more/less/other suspension components to make this car handle well for track days. I have owned several mustangs, my last being a highly modified 98 cobra, and the suspension mods on these cars were endless since they handled like boats stock.

I understand the miata is a whole other animal when it comes to handling but I really want to dial it in well enough to handle just as well, if not better, than my last mustang with full suspension.

Current suspension mods:

Team Dynamics Pro Race 1.2 Wheels (15x7)
Kumho Ecsta XS 205-50-15
Koni Sport Shocks (rebound adjustable)
SSS Springs (500 lb/in front springs, 300 lb/in rear springs)
Fat Cat Motorsports coilover kit
Fat Cat Motorsports NB upper shock mounts & bump stops
Racing Beat Front Sway bar
949 Racing End Links
Racing Beat Front Frame Brace
Racing Beat Rear Frame Brace (not installed but I have it)

Thanks!
SRN DI G SAO
Stage 3
Car(s): FZJ80 Grand Cruiser
Car(s): IS350

Re: Newbie here - what do I need to make my car "track ready

Postby SRN DI G SAO » Thu Nov 07, 2013 9:49 pm

I'm probably going to be in the minority here, but I'd say drive it the way is and get a feel for it now before tweaking. You bought a car with someone else's mods, so no doubt it wont be spot on the way you want it, but it will still have enough to get you around quick and have fun. I personally would do a bit of mixing it up, a track day here, then an auto-x to feel the car at its limits and how it reacts when pushed before adjusting. But to answer your question, a roll bar and good tires are really all you need. Everything else is chasing tenths.